Review: The Vampire’s Daughter by Leigh Anderson

The Vampire’s Daughter by Leigh Anderson
Rating: 4.5 Stars
Length: 229 Pages
Genre: Romance, Fiction

vampires-daughter

Brief Synopsis
Ethan has grown up with Victoria and has plans to marry her. But when he finds out that she is actually the child of a demon and must marry another man, he decides to leave town. He travels to a monastery, plans to take his vows to the Church & live the rest of his days there.

However – the best laid plans often go awry. Ethan’s mentor asks him to lead a famous vampire hunter back to his hometown so that he can rid the village of the vampires that terrorize the people. Ethan must journey back to the place he never wanted to return to, and has to choose between the love of his life or his faith in the Church when he comes face to face with Victoria again.

Containing many tropes of a classic Gothic novel combined with the sensuality of a passionate romance, The Vampire’s Daughter will leave you gasping for more.

My Thoughts
I was offered this book for free in exchange for an honest review. I have a habit of loving anything that pertains to vampires so I had a feeling I would at least enjoy this book. This book was very different from the previous vampire stories I have read. There is always a heavy dose of sexuality in vampire fiction (stories, shows & movies) and, while this book had some sex scenes, none of them were graphic in nature. This story had so many elements & so many story lines to it, and the way the author pulled them all in together was almost perfect!

The story takes place in the 1700s and I honestly felt like I was taken back in time to that era. Religion plays a very large part in the lives of the characters (well at least for most of them). Ethan & Victoria are childhood friends that grew to love each other, but it seems like they are destined to be apart. Victoria continually shows that she will do anything for her father (including turning down Ethan’s proposal!), but he almost seems to have ulterior motives that made me question how deep his affection for his daughter was.

I haven’t read anything else by Leigh Anderson – and I think this might actually be her first book published, because I couldn’t find anything else by her yet – but when I read her background and saw she had previously done a thesis on vampire literature I knew that was why this book was so good. This author manages to hit all the traditional characteristics, while putting a spin on the novel to make it her own. I was very pleased with this book, and I cannot wait to see what else she might publish.

Leave a Reply

