Thoughts on ‘Harry Potter & the Cursed Child’ from a Potterhead

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by Jack Thorne, John Tiffany & JK Rowling
(Harry Potter book #8)
Rating: 3 Stars
Length: 320 Pages
Genre: Young Adult

hp

Brief Synopsis
Years after the Battle of Hogwarts Harry Potter, along with his friends, has grown into an adult. Now he is a husband and a father, with his own children are off to Hogwarts.  If he thought he would ever outgrow his name or his scar, he was wrong.  Unfortunately life doesn’t get easier when you become an adult.

As Harry struggles to deal with a past that doesn’t want to stay in the past, his youngest son Albus is struggling with a family legacy that he never wanted.  When Albus tries to make things right he manages to cause more trouble.  As the past and the present start to fuse, both Harry & Albus realize that darkness is present in some of the most unexpected places.

My Thoughts
Okay so first things first, I am a HUGE Potterhead; I read my first Harry Potter book when I was in the 4th grade and I’ve been in love with the series ever since. I own every movie, every book (including all the mini books released – Quidditch through the Ages, Tales of Beedle the Bard, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them), and I have read each of the 7 books so many times that I could probably tell you the entire story without cracking a single book. So naturally when I hear that almost 10 years after the last book was released that a new book would be published, I could not wait to read it – to be honest I am surprised it took me so long to get my hands on it. I think subconsciously I was worried I was building up the excitement too much and that this play would fail me. I read this over Thanksgiving weekend, but I haven’t posted about it because I’ve needed this time to reflect.

This book is actually a play, in case you hadn’t heard. I wasn’t a fan of reading plays when I was in school, so I make it a habit not to read them in my adulthood; but hey – I had to make an exception for this one. I knew ahead of time and prepared myself; that I can deal with. I think my biggest (and really only?) issue with this book is that I can’t really tell that it was a J.K. Rowling/Harry Potter book. The writing styles were different, the characters were different & acted differently and it just didn’t have the same kind of flow that I came to expect of a Harry Potter book. Don’t get me wrong – this is a good play, IF you go into with the mindset that it is NOT a Harry Potter book. It seemed kind of rushed, and I actually was able to read it in a 12ish hour period. Even on my 7th or 8th read of Sorcerer’s Stone it takes me longer than that to thoroughly enjoy.

This is, unfortunately, probably the lowest rating I have given a book and it breaks my heart that it is a Potter book that is receiving such a low star rating. But I cannot in good conscience give it a higher rating. Maybe if it wasn’t an official Harry Potter book? Or maybe even if J.K. Rowling’s name wasn’t on it? I’m giving this 3 stars because, if I separate it from my previous love for HP, it is a good play.

Leave a Reply

