Review: How to Save Love by Andria Large

How to Save Love by Andria Large
Rating: 4.5 Stars
Length: 192 pages
Genre: M/M Romance

how-to-save-love

Brief Synopsis
Spencer Whitmore thought he had it all figured out; he would go to college with his boyfriend, Jesse Matthews, and they would live happily ever after. Unfortunately – the best laid plans don’t always go the way we hope. Something awful happens and these two end up parting ways.

Flash forward 15 years & Spencer is a very successful trauma surgeon in Philadelphia. Unforeseen circumstances send him home to his parents for a vacation, and guess who he runs into. Is it so they could have a second chance at love? Or is it so that Spencer can get some closure and finally move on with his life?

My Thoughts
I have been waiting on this book since ‘How to Save a Life’ came out in May. Spencer and Jesse were prevalent in that book and I was so hopeful that they would end up being high school sweethearts. But alas – I can’t always get what I want (or so my husband tells me). When we start the book Spencer is older, wiser, and almost commitment-phobic. After the way Jesse treated him while they were in school Spencer has shied away from any relationship, deciding to settle for one night stands. When these two run in to each other, it’s almost like you as the reader can feel the tension build. Part of me was hoping that they’d kiss and make up (ok – I’ll be honest, 100% of me was hoping for that) – but I’m a hopeless romantic. I always look for the happy endings and happily ever afters even if they don’t make for the best books/stories.

I don’t want to spoil the book by any means – so I’ll just say that Andria Large has done it again. Her writing has continuously blown me away. This book has all the steamy sex of an erotic piece, all the intensity of a drama and even some comedic moments that wouldn’t be expected in a romance book. Obviously this is a Male/Male romance, so if that isn’t your cup of tea – I’m sorry but you’re missing out on a great book. The author writes this so that we can see both Jesse & Spencer’s POVs throughout the entire thing. Like I mentioned before, these two start out in ‘How to Save a Life’ but you don’t have to read that to understand the characters in this one. But if you have read that, you will catch up with Ezra & Ferris in this book as well. I tend to sway towards free books or $0.99 books on Amazon, but I think this book is one that is definitely worth the buy. I have read it at least once, and will probably read it again soon.

Leave a Reply

