My TENTH Review — Until Harry by L.A. Casey

Until Harry by L. A. Casey
Rating: 4.5 Stars
Length: 322 Pages
Genre: Chick Lit, Romance

until-harry

Brief Synopsis
When Lane Edwards runs away from home, no one expected her to come back. Least of all Kale. Kale Hunt has been Lane’s best friend practically since she was born. They have gone through pretty much everything together, but when Kale decides to move on with his life Lane decides that she can’t stay in York any longer. She needs room to breathe – so she moves across the ocean to get away. Unfortunately a drastic turn of events has her running back home for the first time in 6 years.

My Thoughts
There were so many moments while reading this book that I wished I had a box of tissues nearby. Unrequited love – it’s such an old tale but it makes for some of the best chick flicks. And as a big fan of chick flicks some of my favorite books are the ones that would make great movies. This book had me laughing so hard I almost fell out of my chair & then a few pages later I was wishing I could just let the tears roll. Lane and Kale have so much history – and L. A. Casey handles that so well. She writes flashbacks throughout the book to show how the characters got to where they are. Their relationship has ups and downs, and these are to the extreme, but the way they grow and work together to overcome the downs makes them such a realistic couple – and I loved that.

I have read L.A. Casey’s ‘Slaters Brothers’ series and I really liked her writing – so when I ran across this one in my recommended titles on Amazon I jumped on it. The author writes her female leads so that they are not the typical chick flick lead. These girls are snarky and tough, but they have marshmallow centers and Lane is no exception – she is strong (even if she doesn’t believe it herself) and she will do anything so she does not come across as weak, even if it means watching miserably as the love of her life moves on with his life. The way she comes to realize how capable she is at handling her life just really drew me to her character.

Leave a Reply

